Hmong woman and her baby
Center of Excellence in Newcomer Health

Organizer

Center of Excellence in Newcomer Health
Phone
651-201-5414
Email
refugeehealth@state.mn.us
Website
https://www.health.state.mn.us/communities/rih/about/coe.html
Learn More
Category

More Info

Learn More

Date

Oct 07 2021

Cost

Free

Refugee Health: Review of Best Practices and Updates to Screening Guidance

Please join the  Center of Excellence in Newcomer Health for a free, three-part webinar series in September and October.

  • Part I: Introduction to Refugee Health (9/14)
  • Part II: Medical Screening of Refugee Children (9/24)
  • Part III: Medical Screening of Refugee Adults (10/7)

Part I: Introduction to Refugee Health (9/14)

Tuesday, September 14, 2021
12 – 1 p.m. ET | 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. CT | 10 – 11 a.m. MT | 9 – 10 a.m. PT

Learning Objectives

  • Identify three trends in the demographics and health of refugees
  • Identify at least three key partners in refugee health coordination and screening
  • Describe the goals and processes of the overseas and domestic medical screenings
  • Describe three key considerations when receiving a refugee (routine or with known medical needs)

Part II: Medical Screening of Refugee Children (9/24)

Friday, September 24, 2021
12 – 1 p.m. ET | 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. CT | 10 – 11 a.m. MT | 9 – 10 a.m. PT

Register:Part 2: Medical Screening of Refugee Children

Learning Objectives

  • Identify current guidance for pediatric refugee screening in North America
  • Evaluate selected evidence supporting these guidance documents
  • Make appropriate clinical decisions when implementing refugee health screening for children new to the U.S.

Part III: Medical Screening of Refugee Adults (10/7)

Thursday, October 7, 2021
3 – 4 p.m. ET | 2 – 3 p.m. CT | 1 – 2 p.m. MT | 12 – 1 p.m. PT

Register:Part 3: Medical Screening of Refugee Adults

Learning Objectives

  • Identify current guidance for adult refugee screening in North America
  • Evaluate selected evidence supporting these guidance documents
  • Make appropriate clinical decisions when implementing refugee health screening for adults new to the U.S.

Learn More

Print or download the webinar series promotional flyer – which also contains additional information about the series:
Review of Best Practices and Updates to Screening Guidance (PDF)

For more information or questions, please contact the Minnesota Department of Health Refugee and International Health Program at refugeehealth@state.mn.us or 651-201-5414.

Photo by United Nations (cc license)